Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

How Many Moons Does Saturn Have

Saturn is the second largest planet in our solar system and it is the sixth planet from the Sun. It is a gas giant with an atmosphere that consists mostly of hydrogen and helium. Saturn is best known for the extensive ring system around the planet. The planet has been studied by many modern probes, which has helped us learn more about the planet, including the rings and moons. If you want to know how many moons orbit Saturn, keep reading to find out.

How many moons does Saturn have?
So far astronomers have discovered 62 moons orbiting Saturn. However, only 53 of these have official names and only 13 are larger than 50 km (31 mi.) in diameter. The largest moon of Saturn is Titan and it is also the second largest moon in the solar system after Ganymede (a moon of Jupiter). Due to its large size it was the first moon to be discovered orbiting Saturn and the 5th moon discovered in the solar system (excluding the Earth’s moon). Most of the other moons of Saturn are quite small. Many small moonlets have also been discovered within the rings of Saturn, but these are not officially listed as moons of the planet. It is likely that more moons will be discovered orbiting Saturn in the future.

Did you know?
Two moons of Saturn were claimed to have been discovered by astronomers. Chiron was announced by Hermann Goldschmidt in 1861 and Themis in 1905 by William Pickering, but neither of these moons have ever been confirmed by anyone else.

Related Articles

What are Saturn’s Rings Made of

How Many Moons Does Jupiter Have

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>