Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of Australia

Australia is a developed country with a large multicultural society. But what is the capital of Australia? This post will answer that question and tell you a little more about the city!

What is the Capital of Australia?

The capital city of Australia is Canberra. It is the eight-largest city in Australia by population with around 350,000 inhabitants. The site was chosen as the capital as Australia’s two largest cities, Melbourne and Sydney, both wanted to be named as capital. This neutral site was seen as a good compromise, although the city is much closer to Sydney than Melbourne. Canberra is home to Parliament House and the Australian High Court. Canberra experiences relatively dry summers with cold winters. While it rarely snows in the city of Canberra, there is regular snow fall in regions close by, especially on mountains.

Canberra is located in the Australia Capital Territory. It is one of two ‘territories’ in Australia (the Northern Territory is the other). As a territory, people living in Canberra are not constitutionally guaranteed to have representatives in federal government, although they currently have representation thanks to an Act passed by Parliament. Over 20% of Canberra’s population were born overseas. Canberra has two twin cities, Beijing (China) and Nara (Japan).

Related Topics

Interesting Facts About Australia

What is the Capital of Angola

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>