Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of Canada

Canada is a North American country settled by the British and French in the 15th century. But what is the capital of Canada? This post will answer that question and tell you a little about the city.

What is the Capital of Canada?

The capital city of Canada is Ottawa. It is the fourth largest city in Canada (Toronto is the largest). Ottawa is a city with extreme ranges of temperatures. It has very hot and humid summers and very cold winters. It is the seventh coldest capital in the world. Freezing rain is quite common during winter. Destructive weather events such as tornadoes, floods, heat waves and hail are rare but have occurred in the region. Ottawa is also struck by earthquakes on occasion.

The biggest religion in Ottawa is Christianity. Almost 80% of the population identify themselves as Christians. About 40% of the population speak both national languages- French and English. Ottawa is often called the most educated city in Canada with over half the population having graduated from college/university. The 24-member city council are elected in a citywide vote. 23 members represent one ‘ward’ (a particular territory in the city) and there is one person elected mayor. Ottawa has five sister cities- Seoul, Beijing, Buenos Aires, Catania and Campobasso.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>