Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of India

India, official title Republic of India, is a country located in southern Asia. It is one of the largest countries in terms of both area (7th largest) and population (2nd largest). The region has been populated for a very long time, but the modern country of India wasn’t formed until it gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1947. If you have ever wondered which city is the capital of India, keep reading to find out.

What is the capital city of India?
In the early 1900′s a proposal was made by the British administrators to create a new capital for India. In 1911 the first foundations were laid for the new capital, now known as New Delhi. It was named in 1931 after construction was completed and the new capital was officially inaugurated. New Delhi remains the capital of India to this day and is home to the Government of India as well as many foreign embassies. New Delhi is home to approximately 250,000 people. New Delhi is located in the northern part of India and is located within the larger metropolis of Delhi, officially known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT).

Before the creation of New Delhi the capital of India was Calcutta, now known as Kolkata. Kolkata is still a very important city in India, especially to the Eastern part of the country.

Related Article

Interesting Facts About India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>