Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of Iraq

Iraq, official title Republic of Iraq, is a country in the Middle East. It shares a border with Jordan, Syria. Turkey, Iran, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia. The area that is modern day Iraq has been continuously inhabited since about 6000 BC. The country has been ruled by many empires throughout history and the modern Republic of Iraq was not created until 1958. Iraq is divided into 18 provinces (governorate) and these are divided further into districts. If you want to know which province of Iraq hosts the capital city, keep reading to find out.

What is the capital city of Iraq?
The capital city of Iraq is Baghdad, which is located within the Baghdad Province. It is also the largest city in the country with an estimated population of 7.2 million. In fact, it is the second largest city in the Arab World. The city lies approximately in the center of the country on the banks of the Tigris River. Baghdad is the home of the Iraqi government and many international embassies.

When was the city of Baghdad founded?
The city of Baghdad was established in 762 AD by Al Mansur, who was the ruler of the Islamic world. Al Mansur gathered experts from around the world to help him develop the plans for the city in 758 AD and over 100,000 people came to work on the construction of the city. After completion the city experienced dramatic growth mostly due to the easy access to water. The city was virtually destroyed in 1258 by the invading Mongols and it took many centuries for Baghdad to become a thriving city again!

Related Articles

Interesting Facts About Egypt

What is the Capital of Austria

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>