Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What Is The Capital Of Nebraska

Nebraska is a state is the Midwestern region of the United States. It is a sparsely populated state with a population of just 1.8 million. Almost 90% of the cities in Nebraska have fewer than 3,000 people. The largest city in the state is Omaha with a population of about 900,000 in the metropolitan area. Omaha was the capital before Nebraska became a state, but this was relocated south of the Platte River after Nebraska became a state.

What is the capital of Nebraska?
The current capital of Nebraska is the City of Lincoln, located in the south west of the state. It is the second largest city in the state and has a metropolitan population of approximately 300,000. It is the home of the Nebraska State Capitol, which is the house of the Nebraska Legislature and is the second tallest U.S. State Capitol building.

When was Lincoln made the capital?
The city of Lincoln was founded as Lancaster in 1856 and it was chosen as the site of the new capital after the legislature voted to move the capital south of the Platte. Some prominent residents of Omaha were unhappy with this and decided to have Lancaster renamed after President Lincoln who had recently been assassinated. This was designed to divide the people who had been supportive of the Confederate in the Civil War. However, the city was successfully renamed Lincoln and it became the capital of Nebraska on March 1, 1867.

Related Articles

When did Nebraska Become a State

What is the Capital of New York

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>