Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of New Hampshire

New Hampshire is a state located in the north east of the United States. It was named after Hampshire, which is an English county. It was the first colony to break away from Great Britain and was one of the original thirteen colonies that formed the United States in 1776. New Hampshire ratified the US Constitution in June 1788 to officially become the 9th state. It is one of the smallest states in the country in terms of both area and population. There are 13 cities in the state and if you want to know which city is the capital, continue reading to find out.

What is the state capital of New Hampshire?
The capital of New Hampshire is the city of Concord. Concord has a population of about 43,000 and is the 3rd largest city in the state after Manchester (pop. 109,565) and Nashua (pop. 86,494). Concord is located in the central-southern region of the state on the banks of the Merrimack River.

The area now known as Concord was first settled by Native Americans and it was first settled by Europeans sometimes between 1725 and 1727. In 1734 it became the town of Rumford, but it was renamed concord in 1765 after a land dispute. In 1808 the city of Concord was officially named the seat of state government and it became the state capital. The state capitol building, called New Hampshire State House, was built in Concord between 1816 and 1819. This makes it the oldest state capitol where the legislative branches still use the original chambers.

Related Articles

When was the Constitution Ratified

What is the Capital of New York

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>