Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of New York

New York is a state in the north west of the United States of America. It was one of the first 13 states that declared independence from Britain in 1776. It has the third largest population of any state in the US with over 19 million people. The largest city in New York state is New York City, which is one of the best known and most important cities in the world. However, this city isn’t the capital of New York. If you want to know which city is the capital of this state, keep reading to find out.

What is the capital city of New York?
The capital of New York State is the city of Albany, which is located on the Hudson River about 240 km (150 mi.) north of New York City. The city itself has a population of about 97,000 and this expands to approximately 850,000 when the greater metropolitan area is included. As the state capital Albany is home to all of the branches of the state and county governments.

Albany was first settled by the Dutch in 1614 and it became the village of Beverwijck in 1652. The English captured the region in 1664 and renamed the village Albany after the Duke of Albany. Albany was formally chartered as a city in 1686 and was officially made the capital of New York State in 1797. Before this time the capital was moved between many different cities in the state.

Did you know?
The city of Albany is the second oldest state capital in the US. The oldest state capital is Santa Fe, which is the capital of New Mexico.

Related Article

How Did New York Get Its Name

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>