Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of Peru

The Republic of Peru is a South American country conquered by the Spanish in the 16th century. But what is the capital of Peru? This post will answer that question!

What is the Capital of Peru?

The city of Lima is both the capital and largest city in Peru. It is a fast growing city that was founded on January 18, 1535 as ‘The City of the Kings’. It became the capital of Peru after the Peruvian War of Independence. Rainfall in the city is very low, impacting on the water supply in the city. Many French, Italian and German people live in Lima having immigrated during the 20th century. There are also large numbers of Jews and Asians.

Sports are very popular in Lima. Equestrian and soccer (football) are the most popular sports in the city. Volleyball, basketball and fronton (a sport similar to squash and invented in Lima) are also popular. Lima is serviced by the largest airport in Peru- the Jorge Chavez International Airport. Taxis in Lima have no meters. The driver and passenger agree on the fare before the trip commences.

Lima has 25 sister (or ‘twin’) cities including New York City, Los Angeles, Beijing, Cardiff and Mexico City.

Interested in learning more about Peru? Read our interesting facts about Peru!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>