Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of South Africa

South Africa is a country located on the very southern tip of the African continent. The country has a checkered history of racial segregation under a policy called apartheid, but this was repealed. After the end of apartheid in 1994 nine provinces were created. These provinces are divided into districts and further divided into local municipalities. If you want to know which city is the capital of South Africa, keep reading to find out.

What is the capital city of South Africa?
South Africa has a unique system and the country actually has 3 official capitals. Pretoria is known as the administrative or executive capital, Cape Town is the legislative capital and Bloemfontein is the judicial capital.

Pretoria is considered to be the administrative capital because the international embassies and union building are located there. Cape Town is the legislative capital because that is where the parliament of South Africa is located. Bloemfontein is the judicial capital because it is home to the Supreme Court Of Appeal.

Why does South Africa have 3 capital cities?
The formation of 3 capital cities dates back to the Union of South Africa. In this union two Boer republics and two British colonies were combined. Each of the 4 original provinces disagreed about where the capital city should be. An agreement was reached for the benefits and responsibilities of a capital city to be spread between 3 cities, the 4th province accepted financial compensation and did not have an official capital city.

Related Articles

Interesting Facts About South Africa

Who Wrote the South African National Anthem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>