Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of Switzerland

Switzerland, officially the Swiss Confederation, is a small country located in Western Europe. It is a landlocked country that is bordered by Liechtenstein, Austria, Italy, France and Germany. Switzerland is made up of 26 cantons, most of which were individual countries before the formation of the Swiss federal state in 1848. Each of these cantons has its own capital city. If you want to know which of these capitals is also the capital of Switzerland, keep reading to find out.

What is the capital city of Switzerland?
The capital city (Federal City) of Switzerland is the city of Bern and it is the seat of the federal authorities. This city is located in the Canton of Bern, which is the second largest in the country in size and population. Bern in the 4th largest city in Switzerland with a population of about 125,000 people.

When was the city of Bern founded?
The city of Bern was founded in 1191 and this date was recorded in a written document in the year 1208. Bern was made the Federal City of the modern day Switzerland when the country was founded in 1848.

Did you know?
The center of Bern is known as the Old City of Bern, which dates back to the medieval times. It was made a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983.

The official language of the city is German, but the most common spoken language is actually a dialect called Bernese German.

Related Articles

Interesting Facts about Switzerland

Why Is Switzerland Regarded As A Neutral Country

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>