Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What Is The Smallest Country In South America

South America is the continent located directly below North America. It is mostly located below the equator in the southern hemisphere. It is the fourth-largest continent in landmass and fifth largest in terms of population. It is estimated that the population of South America is about 380 million. There are 12 countries in South America and three regions that belong to other countries. If you have ever wondered which of the countries in South America is the smallest, read on to discover the answer.

The smallest country in South America
The title of the smallest country on the continent of South America goes to Suriname. It consists of a region that is 163,270 km2 (63,040 square miles), which makes it about 13,000 km² smaller than the next smallest country Uruguay. It also has the smallest population of any country in South America with just under 500,000 people. It is located in the northern part of the continent and borders French Guiana to the east and Guyana to the west. The country was once a colony of the Netherlands, but achieved independence in 1975. Dutch remains the official language of Suriname.

The smallest region of South America is South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands. These cover an area of just 3,903 km2 (1,507 square miles) and have a population of about 30 people (mainly scientists). This region belongs to the United Kingdom who annexed the area in 1908.

Related Articles

Interesting Facts About Uruguay

What is the Smallest Country in the World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>