Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

When Did Wyoming Become a State

Wyoming is a state in the north western region of the United States. It shares a border with 6 other states including; Montana, South Dakota, Nebraska, Colorado, Utah and Idaho. It is the 10th largest state by area, but has the smallest population of any state in the country. Wyoming is home to parts of the Great Plains and the Rocky Mountains, which gives it a very diverse geography. Most of the Yellowstone National Park can be found within the state. The capital of Wyoming is Cheyenne, which is also the largest city in the state. If you want to know when Wyoming became a state, continue reading to find out.

When did Wyoming become a state?
Wyoming was home to many native American tribes before white explorers made their way into the region. A small part of the south western area of the state was originally part of the Spanish Empire and later became part of the Mexican territory called Alta California. This area was surrendered to the United States at the conclusion of the Mexican-American War in 1848. Another part of the state was acquired in the Louisiana Purchase in 1803. The first steps towards becoming a state began in 1868 with the introduction of the Territory of Wyoming, which had identical borders to the current state. It was made a state on July 10, 1890, to became the 44th state of the United States of America.

Related Articles

When did Nebraska Become a State

When did Missouri Become a State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>