Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

Where Is Mount Rushmore Located

The Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a large sculpture that was carved into granite by sculptor Gutzon Borglum and his son, Lincoln Borglum. The sculpture features the heads of 5 of the most famous Unites States Presidents; George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln. Initially the design called for each President to be sculpted from head to waist, but a lack of funding caused the project to be abandoned before this was completed. Today, more than 2 million people visit Mount Rushmore every year. Continue reading to find out the location of this impressive sculpture.

Where is Mount Rushmore located?
Mount Rushmore is located in Pennington County, which is located in the eastern region of South Dakota. The nearest town is Keystone, which is only a short drive from the Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The Memorial has been operated by the U.S. National Park Service since 1933 and it is open every day of the year except for Christmas Day. There is no entrance fee for the Mount Rushmore National Memorial, but visitors do have to pay a parking fee for their vehicle.

The idea for Mount Rushmore came from historian Doane Robinson, who wanted to promote tourism. He proposed a site called The Needles in the Black Hills region of South Dakota, but the sculptor found the granite in this site to be of poor quality and there was strong opposition from Native American groups. Mount Rushmore was their second choice and the site proved suitable for construction.

Related Articles

Who Built the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial

Who Was the First President of the United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>