Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

Which Country has Won the Most World Cups

The FIFA World Cup is the world’s premier international football (soccer) tournament. It is held every 4 years and 32 teams compete for the ultimate prize from over 200 nations that attempt to qualify. It was first held in 1930 and this tournament was won by the host country Uruguay. The World Cup is the most watched sporting event in the world. There have been a total of 19 World Cup tournaments, won by eight different nations. Let’s take a look at which country has won the most World Cup trophies.

Which Country has Won the Most World Cups
Brazil is the nation with the most FIFA World Cup wins. They have won the tournament a record 5 times. The first win for Brazil came in 1958 and they also won in 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002. They have also been twice runners-up and twice third-place winners. The next best teams are Italy with 4 World Cup wins and Germany with 3 wins. The other winners are; Argentina (2), Uruguay (2), England (1), France (1) and Spain (1).

Did you know?
Although Brazil has won the most World Cup tournaments, the German national team has finished in the top 4 places a record of 12 times (Brazil has 10 top 4 finishes).

Brazil’s famous footballer Pelé is the only person in history to have won 3 World Cup’s as a player – 1958, 1962, and 1970.

Related Article

Who Won the First FIFA World Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>