Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

Which NBA Teams Have Never Won An NBA Championship

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the highest professional basketball league in North America. The league is made up of 30 teams (29 from the US and 1 from Canada), which are separated into 2 conferences and 6 divisions. The league was founded as the Basketball Association of America in 1946 with 11 teams and merged with the National Basketball League in 1949 to become to NBA. The regular season is made up of 82 games and at the end of this eight teams from each conference enter the NBA Playoffs (3 division winners and 5 teams with the next best records). The playoffs consist of 4 best-of-7 rounds, first round, Conference semifinals, Conference finals and culminates with the NBA Finals, where 2 teams qualify for the chance to win the NBA Championship.

Which teams have never won an NBA Championship?
There are 13 current teams that have never won an NBA Championship and 7 of these teams have never made the NBA Finals. These 7 teams are the Los Angeles Clippers, Denver Nuggets, New Orleans Hornets, Minnesota Timberwolves, Memphis Grizzlies, Toronto Raptors and the Charlotte Bobcats. Of the remaining 6 teams that have never won a championship 4 teams have lost 2 NBA Finals series; New Jersey Nets, Orlando Magic, Phoenix Suns and Utah Jazz. The Cleveland Cavaliers and Indiana Pacers both made one NBA final series without winning.

Did you know?
2 other teams, the Chicago Stags and the Washington Capitols, both made one NBA Finals without winning a championship. However, both of these teams folded in the early 1950′s and are no longer part of the league.

Related Articles

Which Team Won The First NBA Championship

Which NFL Teams Haven’t Won A Super Bowl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>