Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

Who Discovered Jamaica

Jamaica is an island nation located in the Caribbean Sea. It is located to the south of Cuba and to the west of Haiti. It was once a Spanish territory, but was taken over by the English in 1655. Eventually it became a British colony known as Jamaica, from the native Taíno inhabitants name for the island “Xaymaca.” Jamaica achieved independence from the United Kingdom in 1962, although the country is still a part of the Commonwealth of Nations and the Queen remains the current head of state.

Who discovered Jamaica?
Jamaica is believed to have been first discovered and settled by the Arawak and Taino indigenous people sometime between 4000 and 1000 BC. It was first discovered by Europeans in 1494 when Christopher Columbus landed in Discovery Bay, although some claim he landed in St. Ann’s Bay. He claimed Jamaica for Spain after landing and the first Spanish settlement was established 15 years later in 1509. The first settlement was named Sevilla, but it was abandoned in 1524. The capital was moved to Spanish Town, then called “St. Jago de la Vega,” which remained the capital of the country until the 19th century. Kingston was made the capital of Jamaica in 1872.

Did you know?
Spanish Town has the oldest cathedral of any British colony in the Caribbean.

Related Articles

Where are the West Indies Located

Interesting Facts About Cuba

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>