Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

Who won the first WNBA Championship

The Women’s National Basketball Association (or WNBA) is the premier women’s basketball competition in the world. At one time, the NBA owned all the teams that competed in the WNBA. Now, teams are becoming independently owned. The league had its first season in 1997. But who won the first WNBA Championship? This post will answer that question!

Who won the first WNBA Championship?

The first WNBA Championship game was played on August 30, 1997. The Houston Comets beat the New York Liberty with the score 65-51. In its first season, the champion was decided in a single game so the Houston Comets were declared the WNBA champions. In future years, the finals have been decided by a best of three or five matches.

There are some interesting facts about the two teams that played in the first championship game. The Houston Comets would go on to win the first four WNBA Championships (1997, 1998, 1999 and 2000). The club eventually folded in 2008 having never won the competition again. The New York Liberty would go on to be runner-up in another three WNBA Championships (1999, 2000 and 2002) and have yet to win a WNBA Championship. In 1999 they got closest when they were beaten 2-1 in the best of three series by the Houston Comets.

Other First Time Winners

Who won the first Stanley Cup

Who won the first Super Bowl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>