Have a Question?

If you have a question you can search for the answer below!

What is the Capital of Mexico

Mexico is a country located on the continent of North America. It shares a border with the United States to the north and Guatemala and Belize to the southeast. It is in the top 20 countries of the world when it comes to both size (14th largest) and population (11th largest). Mexico has 31 states and a Federal District, which is the capital city. Keep reading if you want to find out which city is Mexico’s capital.

What is the capital city of Mexico?
The capital city of Mexico is Mexico City, which is located in the Valley of Mexico. It became the capital city of Mexico on November 18, 1824 after the new Congress chose it as the preferred location. In 1854 the president of Mexico enlarged the Federal District to 1,700 km2 (660 sq mi) and today the city covers much of this area. Today, the city has a population of about 8.8 million and the metropolitan area of the city has a population of about 21.2 million people, which makes it one of the largest cities in the world.

History of Mexico City
The city was founded in 1325 by the Aztecs and was known as Tenochtitlan. This city was virtually destroyed in 1521 by the Spanish and they established their own city, known as México Tenochtitlán in 1524. In 1585 the city was officially known as Mexico City (Spanish: La Ciudad de México) for the first time. The city was a major center of the Spanish colonial empire until Mexico achieved independence.

Related Articles

Who was the First President of Mexico

Interesting Facts About Mexico

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You can use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>